Laws and Regulations
Below are the most recent Laws and Regulations that affect Arizona in-home care agencies.
Prop 206 – Arizona’s Minimum Wage Law
Effective January 1, 2017
Under Proposition 206, the Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act (the “Act”), Arizona minimum wage will increase to $10.50 per hour in 2018; $11.00 per hour in 2019; and $12.00 per hour in 2020. On January 1, 2021, the Arizona minimum wage will increase each year by the cost of living. For more information on Prop 206, please look at the FAQ provided on the Prop 206 link herein.
SB1401 – Arizona Home Care Disclosure Law
Effective July 15, 2015
All AZNHA members abide by Arizona state laws for providing home care services. As such, and in accordance with SB1401, it is state law that a business entity providing in-home care services in Arizona shall, on an annual basis, disclose to each of its home care service clients at least all of the following information:
- Whether criminal background checks have been performed on the employees or contractors who provide home care services and the entity’s policy on sending employees or contractors who have a criminal history to a client’s home.
- The name and position of the person who is responsible for the day-to-day management of the employees and contractors, for the hiring and firing of employees and for the termination of contracts.
- A description of any required training for employees or contractors who provide home care services and whether the training includes first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation.
- A description of the home care services the entity provides and the cost of each service.
- A description of the entity’s home care services agreements and how an agreement may be terminated.
A person or agency who violates this Arizona law is guilty of a class 3 misdemeanor for each violation. In the instance of continuing violation, each day constitutes a separate offense. All Arizona class 3 misdemeanor offenses carry a maximum charge of up to $500, and/or a maximum 30 days in jail.